Help with extremely high nitrite levels!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nbhoover

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am in serious need of help. My fishless cycle has been driving me bonkers!

I have been doing a fishless cycle for about two months now on a 30-gallon freshwater goldfish tank. The tank is moderately planted with four plants, one of which is anchored to a small piece of bogwood. I use an internal filter (couldn't use a HOB because the edges of my tank were too thick) as well as a sponge filter for aeration and additional biological filtration. For substrate, I have medium-sized gravel, a few larger river rocks, and a mixing of lava-type rocks throughout. All the substrates were purchased from a pet store.

As for my routine, I test the water parameters almost every day. For quite some time, I've had readings of ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. In the beginning, I dosed ammonia to 4ppm. Now, I dose pure ammonia to 1ppm, then wait for that to go down to .25ppm or almost 0 before re-dosing. The ammonia decreases almost to zero within 24 hours.

Nitrites are another story. They began steadily appearing several weeks into the cycle, but they've yet to go down! For the last month, nitrites have been through the roof (5ppm+). The only time the nitrites go down are when I do 100% water changes. But inevitably, the nitrites come back up and are sky-high by the next day.

I've had readings of nitrate, varying between 10ppm and 160+ ppm.

I've tested my tap water, and it contains no nitrites and no nitrates. I've been keeping an eye on my pH, and it fluctuates between 7.6 and 7.4, but I always do a 50% water change and add Prime when I notice any fluctuation. Prime is added anytime I do water changes, and I haven't messed around with my internal filter in any way since I began the cycling process.

Why won't my nitrites go down? :thanks: