Hey everyone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

somethingsfishy

Aquarium Advice FINatic
My name is Anthony. I am a resident of the new Orleans area. I don't know much about fish which lead me to this app however, after reading alot I feel much better about my tank. So her goes... My freshwater tank is a 40 tall. I have a marineland 350 filter. I'm not sure the heater brand. My lighting is a 20 watt glo bulb. I have red and black gravel and a three armed piece of wood with a small hole in one piece which my algae eater loves. I use an API master test kit. As for fish I have one marble angel fish who needs company. Two tiger barbs an two pink kissing gourami and two algae eaters. My daughters picked those little guys.

My first question is about filters. Should I be throwing them away or trying to clean them off ? I change the filter every three weeks and after reading the almost cycling guide, I think this is bad.

Next. My water test levels. My ammo is .5 my nitrites are at 1 and my nitrates are at 40. Could this spike be caused by completely changing my filters an removing that good bacteria? Is a 50% pwc necessary or should I just monitor the water and the problem will fix itself?

Well I think that's long enough for now. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

Just rinse your pads in old tank water and reuse. No need to change them until they fall apart.

You do have a bit of a cycle going. Do water changes as needed to keep everything under .25ppm. Water changes are never a bad thing and right now will keep your fish healthy.

Welcome to AA!

somethingsfishy said: