High ammonia level

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

swissysrule

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new at fish keeping. Help !!
I just cleaned my 29 g. tank 2 days ago. I added prime and stability. Kept the same filter. Did not change that. I noticed today water seems to be getting a little cloudy. I checked my water, all I have were tetra easy strips. That came out in normal range. It did show hard water.
I did test water with a api ammonia nh3/ng4+ test kit.
It showed high 4.0.
I then tested my tap water.
Showed high ammonia, at
4.0. Fish seem fine. Everyone is eating.
How do I fix my problems?

How long has your tank been setup?

What size tank?

How many fish and type?

Can you shake the ammonia test bottle very well and test both your tank and tap water again? A 4.0 level of ammonia is extremely toxic to fish, so if they are acting normal it seems like the measurement may be off.

My 29 g. tank set up for about 1 yr now. I am probably overstocked from what I've been reading. 2 angels, 3 gouromi's, 2 young dwarf neon rainbow fish and 2 cory's. Oh, just added 4 snakeskin barbs 2 days ago.
I live in Chicago, so we get lake michigan water source. Could that be why my tap tests high for ammonia 4.0?

Apparently after doing a little research, many water companies use chloramine in the water and ammonia is a by product. What do you use to treat your water during a water change? Seachem prime works really well, and it will break down chloramine.

Your tank may be slightly over stocked, but I'm still not sure how you have fish living with a 4.0 reading of ammonia. I would do a 25% water change each night and then keep testing the water. Definetly don't add any more fish until your ammonia reading is 0.

One more question, what type of filter are you using on your tank?