High Nitrite and Nitrate but zero Ammonia?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

camsoft

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I'm totally new to keep fish and kind of jumped into the whole thing but I'm a little overwhelmed but loving it.

Anyway I've got a fairly new fish tank had it for about 2 weeks now, it had about a week before I put fish in and has live plants. The tank now has 12 tetras, 6 glowlight and 6 neons.

I've been testing the water most days and it's been mostly the same readings each day, up to today I've recorded the following:

CL2 0
PH 7.2
KH 6°d
GH >16°d (we have very hard water due to soil being mostly chalk)
Nitrite 1mg/l
Nitrate 50 mg/l
Ammonia 0

But today the reading seems to have drastically changed:

CL2 0
PH 7.2
KH 6°d
GH >16°d
Nitrite 5mg/l
Nitrate 100 mg/l

Ammonia 0

The nitrite and nitrates for what I've been reading seem very high. Is this just a normal part of the cycle or something else, I think I may have been over feeding to try and make the food reach all the fish as some are more aggressive than others.

What confusing me is that I thought the Nitrite and Nitrates are converted from ammonia but I've never detected any. I'm using Tetra 6in1 testing strips.

Do I need to do anything i.e. water change, if so how much, I'm just worried about stressing the fish.

Thanks.

Your Tank

Hello cam...

Just test every day for traces of ammonia and nitrite. The other tests are unimportant, don't waste your time.

If you have a positive test for ammonia or nitrite, then remove one quarter, 25 percent, of the tank water and replace it with treated tap water.