Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2012, 04:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TangoTank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 519
High pH all of the sudden

If all other parameters are good in my 15 gal column w/ a few strands of anacharis & 2 female Bettas, what would cause the pH to go up suddenly?

Ammonia: zero
NitrItes: Zero
NitrAtes: 5-10ppm

pH 8.0
__________________

__________________
Check out my photography:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post2548090
TangoTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 63
Is the tank cycling? What have you been adding to the tank? (chemicals, food etc.)
__________________

__________________
10 Gallon Tank: 1x Dwarf Red Flame Gourami, 2x Apple Snails

29 Gallon Tank: 2x German Blue Rams, 8x Zebra Danios, 8x Black Skirt Tetra, 5x Peppered Corys, 1x Apple Snail, 4 Zebra Nerite Snails
tottenham12712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:02 PM   #3
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Have you checked your tap water recently (after it has gassed off)? Excess or lack rain/snow, changes in how a muncipality processes water, the source of the water, etc can all influence tap values- even on a day to day basis. What has your ph been prior to this? As Tottenham asked, have you added anything new/changed anything? Some more info will help!
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 11:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TangoTank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 519
Thks for your replies!! The tank is cycled. My tap water recently did one of those chlorine flushes (normally they use Chloramine) but I stored water so I didn't use any of that water during that time period. However, I used double the amount of Prime after the tap water was flushed just to be sure. I always add Prime to the water before I add it to the tank. I'll re-check my tap water gassed out.

I'm also just noticed I'm having very mild Brown Algae. I took all the decos out & did a good gravel vac. I thought maybe extra debris was causing the raise in pH.
__________________
Check out my photography:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post2548090
TangoTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high ph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.