Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2009, 04:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 27
Holy Ammonia OD, Batman!

I got my lovely pure ammonia to begin the cycling of my tank. I put in "an appropriate amount." HA! Right! I checked my ammonia levels and they were off the chart! Way, way more than 8ppm even.

So I did a 50% water change, waited an hour and test again. Still off the charts! OMG. So, I did another 50% water change and seem to be at 7ppm now.

I'm going to let it sit for a few more hours and test again. If I'm still at a 7 I'll do another 50% water change and hope for the best.

Thank goodness there is nothing in my tank except substrate and a castle.
__________________

__________________
Sibley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 07:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
missileman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 606
LOL, it doesn't take a lot.
It took 1/2 teaspoon to get my 75 gallon to 3ppm.
__________________

__________________
missileman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:06 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 27
Well, 3 50% partial water changes and I'm now at 4ppm. Yay!
__________________
Sibley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
timwag2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 980
i havent had to try the fishless cycle yet but why would you do a pwc if there isnt any fish? i thought you want the ammonia to be there to start the cycle?
__________________
timwag2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
missileman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by timwag2001 View Post
i havent had to try the fishless cycle yet but why would you do a pwc if there isnt any fish? i thought you want the ammonia to be there to start the cycle?
Not too much amonia, if it is too high it can stall the cycle.
__________________
missileman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
timwag2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 980
oh! thanks
__________________

__________________
timwag2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holy sliced up vallisneria, Batman! NorCalAl Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 05-09-2006 10:55 AM
Holy SQUID Batman!! greenmaji Aquaria Off-Topic 8 01-18-2006 06:00 AM
Holy crab invasion, Batman cougaran Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-28-2005 10:31 PM
Holy Mantis, Batman!!! BLOODMAN Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-08-2004 11:59 AM
Holy smokescreen Batman... 42jeff Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 05-23-2004 04:15 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×