How can i cycle an aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishy_lover

Aquarium Advice Regular
How can I cycle an aquarium without the long and confusing method ?

Alright, sorry could resist. You cycle a tank by serval different methods.
1. Buy bottled bacteria
This method is now typically done in freshwater. Go to your live fish store and looked for bottle ammonia and follow the directions on the back, I have never used this method before.
2. Fish in cycle, this one requires major water changes to keep the fish alive and then they still won't make it
3. The fish food cycle, you basically add fish everyday to give something to break down in the tank, this is very messy but has worked the best for me.

Do you have filter media from a tank that has already been cycled and has an established colony of BB? If not, can you obtain filter media from somebody else's tank that has already been cycled and has an established colony of BB?

Do you have filter media from a tank that has already been cycled and has an established colony of BB? If not, can you obtain filter media from somebody else's tank that has already been cycled and has an established colony of BB?

Nope I cant :(

Alright, sorry could resist. You cycle a tank by serval different methods.
1. Buy bottled bacteria
This method is now typically done in freshwater. Go to your live fish store and looked for bottle ammonia and follow the directions on the back, I have never used this method before.
2. Fish in cycle, this one requires major water changes to keep the fish alive and then they still won't make it
3. The fish food cycle, you basically add fish everyday to give something to break down in the tank, this is very messy but has worked the best for me.

Thank you , how long does method 1 and 3 take ?

Cycling a Tank

Hello Fishy...