How long does it take to control Nitrites?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

20GalNewbie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I used to have more fish than I have listed. 1 Bala, 2 Red-tailed barbs have since died. I've been checking the ph, nitrates, nitrites and hardness every 2 days or so. (Tank is only 2 weeks old) After 3 fish died, I checked everything again and these are my results:
Nitrates are 20
Nitrites are 3.0 --bad bad
PH 7.0
I did a 25% water change with a gravel vacuum today, added water with stress coat and also added Amquel + to reduce the nitrites.
How long will this take to get under control? My Leporinus is a little sluggish and so are my Tigers. The Bala seems to be fine so far. I'm very new to this and I feel like I'm drowning! :(

Okay first of all you are in a bad situtaiont you have an uncycled tank with fish in it. In a situtation like this there are a number of things you can do what are you willing to do, are u really attached to the fish, if you want the fish really bad drop them of at a friends tank that is cycled!

When you post back we will go from their.

HTH

Dan :)

The guy at the LFS told me to not put fish in until after 7 days. Then bring a water sample in and we would go from there. I did just that and he said I could add fish. Everything was fine until l2 nights ago. I noticed the fish were acting funny, but being new wasn't sure why. I checked the tank with the test strips and the nitrites were high. I called my LFS and they said to bring in a water sample. They confirmed the no2 being high. They gave me the amquel + to lower that and told me to do a 25% water change with the vacuum. I just check the NO2 again and it is a little lower. What now? This is quite stressful. Oh and about being attached to the fish, the tank belongs to my 9 year old son.