How long until I see nitrite? (a bit long)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Conesus_Kid

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First off: Love the site and all of the advice I've found here. This is perhaps the best aquarist's resource I've found online to date.

Let me share my situation with you:
I'm a teacher, and at the end of last school year, I "inherited" two FW tanks from a fellow teacher who retired: a 55 gal and a 90 gal. The 55 contained (and still does), 4 angels, 4 silver dollars and about 10 tetras with a cory cat. Up until two weeks ago, the 90 contained two minnows (fatheads, I think) and a sunfish. Naturally, I wanted to do much more with the 90, so I brought its inhabitants home to my pond, and drained the water.

Here are my plans for the tank:
1) Remove gravel substrate and replace with sand.
2) Fill the tank with rocks, grapevines (to simulate underwater roots), and some plastic plants.
3) New tenants to include: 5-6 clown loaches, four bala sharks, a couple of kuhli loaches, schools of danios, barbs, and rasboras of various sorts, and a few gouramis. (not strictly a biotope aquarium, but all fish from SE Asia/India)

I am not new to the hobby, but have been out of it for about 10 years for various reasons. I have re-aquascaped the tank, filled it, and have begun fishless cycling, as I would like to get the tank fully established and add all of the fish at once.

A week before I drained the 90 gal, I added another Aquaclear 500 to the established 55 gal community tank with just a sponge, so I could use that for seeding the 90.

I filled the tank on Monday, transferred the sponge to one of the AC500's on the 90 and added pure ammonia Monday and yesterday (10 drops/10gal).

As of today, here are my readings:
Ammonia: between 1.0 and 2.0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrates: 10 ppm