Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-14-2011, 02:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

How many fish?

I just added fish to a new 29 gallon tank. Right now there is:

1- Blue Guaramis
1- Red Tailed Black Shark
1- Zebra Danio
6- Tiger Barbs

All of the fish are looking great and seem to be doing well. I wanted to add more Danios (he seems lonley, and further research has informed me he's a schooling fish) and more Barbs. I'm really new to having an aquarium that has more than 1 single fish in it so I didn't know how many I could put in without overcrowding them. They are all fairly small right now, so it seems like they have ALOT of space, but I know they'll all grow.

In summary how many Tiger Barbs and Danios can I add to my current setup?

Old 07-14-2011, 06:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Five - six more danios, and a couple more barbs should do it. Watch the gourami as those barbs may nip at his feelers.

Old 07-14-2011, 06:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I'll tell you the biggest trap I think most fall into, including myself....You get a tank and a few nice fish that you like. Guy at store has no knowledge. So, off you go with a mix of fish that you come to find out should be in schools So you try to make fish happy and add enough to fill a school, but before you know it, you have too many fish and need a new tank (this sounds familiar)

If the Barbs get nippy, add another. I found adding 1 or 2 more can make huge difference in the whole schools behavior. The difference for me between 6 and 8 was surprising. They actively school more and generally got more peaceful(though mine have never bother any other fish in the tank).
Old 07-14-2011, 09:26 AM   #4
Look It Up