How many fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

awat13

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just added fish to a new 29 gallon tank. Right now there is:

1- Blue Guaramis
1- Red Tailed Black Shark
1- Zebra Danio
6- Tiger Barbs

All of the fish are looking great and seem to be doing well. I wanted to add more Danios (he seems lonley, and further research has informed me he's a schooling fish) and more Barbs. I'm really new to having an aquarium that has more than 1 single fish in it so I didn't know how many I could put in without overcrowding them. They are all fairly small right now, so it seems like they have ALOT of space, but I know they'll all grow.

In summary how many Tiger Barbs and Danios can I add to my current setup?

Five - six more danios, and a couple more barbs should do it. Watch the gourami as those barbs may nip at his feelers.

I'll tell you the biggest trap I think most fall into, including myself....You get a tank and a few nice fish that you like. Guy at store has no knowledge. So, off you go with a mix of fish that you come to find out should be in schools :facepalm: So you try to make fish happy and add enough to fill a school, but before you know it, you have too many fish and need a new tank :lol:(this sounds familiar)

If the Barbs get nippy, add another. I found adding 1 or 2 more can make huge difference in the whole schools behavior. The difference for me between 6 and 8 was surprising. They actively school more and generally got more peaceful(though mine have never bother any other fish in the tank).

Last edited:
I'd be a bit more worried about the RTS as is gets larger than the TigerBarbs. RTS's like rainbow sharks are best in a 55 gal or larger ... they tend to get large (6 inches) and very territorial. Having caves, plants (fake or real), DW and ornaments to set up territories for it to claim help.