Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-25-2017, 10:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
55tanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: at home
Posts: 48
How often can you do the nitrate test?

I always test both my tank back to back but I always leave the nitrate test out for the second tank and do it about an hour later. Is that long enough?

I've heard shaking the bottle not enough or too much skew the result so that is why I assume we can't do the nitrate test one after another.

Anybody know? It's not in the booklet.
__________________

__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 05:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 4,808
You need to shake the #2 reagent bottle for 30 seconds to 1 minute before drops go in vial.Then you need to only let the sit [after shaking] for the time on card. Shorter can give a false lower reading and letting the tube sit longer will give false high readings..I have a timer for when I am in test mode...
You can't over shake it ,but if you just shook it for previous test then a quick 10-15 secong shake should suffice.
I have 42 tanks and although I rarely test ,I could test all of them one after the other if I wanted with accuracy being constant in the test.
__________________

coralbandit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 07:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,315
Water Testing

Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
I always test both my tank back to back but I always leave the nitrate test out for the second tank and do it about an hour later. Is that long enough?

I've heard shaking the bottle not enough or too much skew the result so that is why I assume we can't do the nitrate test one after another.

Anybody know? It's not in the booklet.
Hello 55...

When I tested the tank water, I tested for all three forms of nitrogen and according to the instructions. I found out later, if I just followed a sound water change routine, I didn't need to test, The water chemistry was always good.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 08:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
55tanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: at home
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello 55...

When I tested the tank water, I tested for all three forms of nitrogen and according to the instructions. I found out later, if I just followed a sound water change routine, I didn't need to test, The water chemistry was always good.

B
I'm only testing it multiple times a day because I'm cycling the tank and the parameter changes every time. Waiting for it to be cycled so I don't have to test so often.
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 09:59 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
55tanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: at home
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by coralbandit View Post
You need to shake the #2 reagent bottle for 30 seconds to 1 minute before drops go in vial.Then you need to only let the sit [after shaking] for the time on card. Shorter can give a false lower reading and letting the tube sit longer will give false high readings..I have a timer for when I am in test mode...
You can't over shake it ,but if you just shook it for previous test then a quick 10-15 secong shake should suffice.
I have 42 tanks and although I rarely test ,I could test all of them one after the other if I wanted with accuracy being constant in the test.
Thanks! Yeah, I do the same, used to shake it about 15 seconds cause it was just shook for the previous test but I decided to wait an hour but sometimes I forget to test it. Prolly should just email the company what their recommendation for testing multiple tanks.

Also, for mine, you shake the bottle for 30 seconds and then the tube for a minute.
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 11:20 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,315
Tank Cycling

Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
I'm only testing it multiple times a day because I'm cycling the tank and the parameter changes every time. Waiting for it to be cycled so I don't have to test so often.
55...

You don't have to test multiple times a day. You test once in the morning and if you have a positive test for either ammonia or nitrite, remove 25 percent of the water and replace that with pure, treated tap water. By changing out one-quarter of the water you maintain the best water conditions and leave enough dissolved nitrogen to grow the bacteria colony.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 02:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
I found out later, if I just followed a sound water change routine, I didn't need to test, The water chemistry was always good.
Even on well established tanks, I find it is a worthwhile effort to test for nitrates every few months. It gives me a point of reference to know if I am changing enough water on a weekly basis. How much water I need to change varies a lot depending on stocking levels so it is important(for my situation) to keep an occasional eye on it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
I'm only testing it multiple times a day because I'm cycling the tank and the parameter changes every time. Waiting for it to be cycled so I don't have to test so often.
While it won't hurt anything, there is no need to test nitrate levels so often during the cycle. When in a cycle, I typically test nitrate and ph no more than weekly. It is much more important to monitor ammonia and nitrite.

There was I time when I tested nitrate daily but I realized that I never took any action on the reading. After all, what you are doing with the nitrate information every day? Do you take different actions based on if it is low or high? At least for me, the more testing I do, them more impatient I get.
__________________

__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, nitrate, ten, test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often do you test? Convict2161 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 62 12-18-2011 06:43 PM
How often do you clean your Filter? Do you alternate if you have multiple filters? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-22-2011 12:06 AM
How often do you test your water? Lawngnome Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 02-03-2011 09:43 PM
Ho often to you test for Ammonia and Nitrite? JDogg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 10-12-2006 03:20 PM
Anenome Feeding: How often, is too often? survivinglove Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 01-16-2005 09:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.