How to transfer fish & shrimp to bigger tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cass95

Aquarium Advice Freak
I currently have a 10 gallon with neon tetras and red cherry shrimps. I will be moving them to a 40B tank. Since my 10 gallon is a planted tank, I want to move my substrate (eco complete) into the 40B also. Would I have to clean it before adding it to the new tank? How can I transfer my fish and shrimps without any deaths or causing them to become ill. Can I do all this in one day? Any tips? This is my first time and makes me nervous to lose a fish or shrimp.

Making sure the filter in the new tank is cycled is probably the most important thing. Matching temperature and pH probably comes next. Basically you'll want the water conditions to be as similar as possible.

I can't think of a reason you'd need to wash the substrate. Just be prepared for a cloudy mess for a while things settle down.

As far as the actual transfer goes, I just fill a bucket with tank water and place my fish into it and then transfer to the new tank. Truthfully though, I've never transferred shrimp.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

I would try using a brine shrimp net for your pet shrimp. I think maybe they would get caught up in a regular net.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Making sure the filter in the new tank is cycled is probably the most important thing. Matching temperature and pH probably comes next. Basically you'll want the water conditions to be as similar as possible.

I can't think of a reason you'd need to wash the substrate. Just be prepared for a cloudy mess for a while things settle down.

As far as the actual transfer goes, I just fill a bucket with tank water and place my fish into it and then transfer to the new tank. Truthfully though, I've never transferred shrimp.