I dont know what to do. Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I am new to aquariums. I recieved a 55g freshwater tank with 15 or so fish, chiclids I think. I wanted a tank for so long but wanted to research it first. Well a coworker just showed up with it. The tank is set up with old gravel dirty and 1/4 of the old water in it. The however are still in a 5g bucket with an airator in it. I know this is not what should happen but it is what it is. What do I do for these poor kids (fish)? I want to make this work.:hide:

Yikes - poor fish! I am a total newbie, but is the filter media still wet by chance? If so I would think it would be important to keep the media wet (with tank water) to have a better shot of beneficial bacteria staying alive so the tank doesn't massively cycle once the fish are in....

To be honest if it were me I would try to rehome the fish ASAP (like now) so you can prep the tank and get the fish you want.....

I just feel so bad for the fish :(

EDIT - I see from your other thread that you already set up the tank/filter etc...so ignore that part about keeping it wet....

rehoming is probally not going to happen. I am going out to get a better test kit.I have strips which read.
Nitrate-40
Nitrite-1.0
hardness-75-100
chlorine-0
Alk- 120
pH-7.2

My biggest question is do I put the fish in the tank? or can I add something that may help first?

rehoming is probally not going to happen. I am going out to get a better test kit.I have strips which read.
Nitrate-40
Nitrite-1.0
hardness-75-100
chlorine-0
Alk- 120
pH-7.2

My biggest question is do I put the fish in the tank? or can I add something that may help first?

Ammonia???