I Need Help -- new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bender3445

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I just set up a 20 Gallon tank with a heater and a Aqueon Power filter 20, and all over the tank are what seems to be little air bubbles. I have no idea why they are there so can anybody explain to me whether its a good or bad thing if they are there, and what i can do to get rid of them.

I also was wondering about the cycling process, because the person at Petco did not mention one word about it, and she said that i would just have to let the tank go for a couple of days, add some conditioner and add the fish. After reading the cycling guide here, i was a little worried that she might be wrong. Can someone explain that too?

She also said I could get 1 male betta and like 10-12 small community fish.

Welcome Bender,

I am very new to this but so far everybody has been very helpful.

As for your bubble "problem," I had the same thing happen when I first added water to my 20g. I just took my scrub brush and easily wiped them off of the walls, filter, heater, etc. They havn't come back at all and any that I missed have gone away as well.

I would recommend doing a fishless cycle (not from experience, I'm only a week into mine) just by everything I have read on these forums and other sites. My co-worker just started a tank and added fish after 3 days. He know has unhealthy looking fish 2 weeks in and i'm guessing it is because he didn't cycle properly.

Here is an awesome stocking calculator:

AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor

dam, i was lied to... i'm glad i came across the cycling process now, my fish probably would have died. thanks for the help sberk.

Don't worry about the air bubbles, you will always see those after adding water to your tank.