Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2004, 09:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
i'm doing a FISHLESS CYCLING...my ammonia is above 8.0!!!!!!

i read that tooo much ammonia can stall the cycling process..is this true??

2days ago
my ammonia was 4.0ppm
nitrite 0 ppm
nitrate 0 ppm

today
my ammonia is ABOVE 8.0ppm (OFF THE SCALE!!!!)
nitrite 1ppm
nitrate 0ppm

i'm into week 3!!

does this sound right??

should i do a water change?

i also got some filter media (ALOT OF FILTER MEDIA) from my fish store to seed and jumpstart the cycle.
question: how long does it take for the old filter media to kick in and help the cycle???
because i added it to my filter, and there has been no change in my readings.
__________________

__________________
Bubble_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:20 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
That ammonia level is high. What are you using as an ammonia source? Do a 50% water change and keep the ammonia level at 5ppm max. The bacteria you have from the LFS may actually be suffering from such high ammonia levels and not doing the job you want it to do.
__________________

__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 12:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
i just did a 50% water change and NOTHING !!!!!

the ammonia level did NOT change !!!!
what's going on???

is my ammonia extremely high????

what do i do????
__________________
Bubble_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 12:55 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Wondering if a product like TLC would help to add some live bacteria?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 01:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
How are you cycling?
I'd take the shrimp out !
__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 01:35 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
Please tell us what you are cycling with.
__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:21 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
If you did a 50% water change with no decrease in the ammonia readings, either the test kit is faulty, or your first reading was actually way over 8 ppm, and the test kit is not accurate over 8 ppm (it still just registers 8 ppm even if the level is over 8 ppm). Take a sample of water to your lfs to confirm your readings.

What type of test kit are you using? Does it have one or two bottles? Are you adding anything like Amquel to the tap water? You do need a dechlorinator if you're using tap water, because the chlorine will kill the good bacteria. If you're using Amquel or another chloramine remover, you need an ammonia test kit with two bottles to accurately read the ammonia levels.
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
first we need to find out what kind of cycle he is doing, shrimp or whatever...
__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 07:33 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
YES i am using the 2 bottle test kit !!!!!!

salicylate !!

i did another 10% water change today...and again....NO CHANGE in ammonia reading.

i should also mention that the nitrite fell to 0.
(maybe cuz of the water change).
__________________
Bubble_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 07:35 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 33
i use ammo-lock as my water conditioner.
cuz i'm cycling using zabra danios.
__________________
Bubble_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 11:08 AM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
Quote:
i did another 10% water change today...and again....NO CHANGE in ammonia reading.
A 10% change will only lower the reading by 0.8ppm if the ammonia is 8ppm. You need to do a few days of 50% PWC to see a decrease. Remember, the bacteria have to deal with the ammonia already in the tank and the ammonia produced by the fish. Stop using ammo-lock and use a plain dechlor to take out chlorine and chloramine. Ammo-lock will prolong the cycle and is not effective.
__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 11:47 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,061
Ammo-lock will also give you false positive readings. Like Menagerie stated, stop using that and just use the dechlorinator. Do your water change and you should be back on track.
__________________

__________________
Regards,
Fawn
FawnN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycling, fishless, fishless cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia to use for fishless cycling darryn Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 05-18-2009 01:56 PM
Ammonia - For fishless cycling Diablos Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 02-14-2007 01:40 AM
Fishless cycling with ammonia An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 03-10-2006 01:27 PM
Fishless Cycling: is my ammonia okay? workfortheman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 11-17-2004 10:40 AM
Fishless Cycling - Is this Ammonia okay? erc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 05-05-2004 10:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×