Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-30-2015, 11:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
In Need of New Tank Help/Questions

Hi all,

I recently setup an Aqueon 29 gallon tank using the starter kit. I'm interested in having live plants so I decided to use Seachem Fluorite substrate. I poured the substrate but my tank looks like it belongs to the swamp thing, all muddy, I cant even see the filter from the other side lol. The bag said rinsing not required but I probably should have... I think I may have screwed up because I added a few drops of ammonia to get my fishless cycle started, which I probably shouldn't have.. Is anyone familiar with this kind of substrate or done this kind of cycle before? I'm wondering if I need to do a water change to clear up the water or remove some of the ammonia.
__________________

__________________
volter2947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 02:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
The flourite is gross. I would personally drain the water, pull out the substrate into a pillowcase or bucket and hose the crap out of it until the water runs clear. Replace the substrate and get things going again.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 07:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Feasterville, PA
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
The flourite is gross. I would personally drain the water, pull out the substrate into a pillowcase or bucket and hose the crap out of it until the water runs clear. Replace the substrate and get things going again.
+1 . I have the flourite in my 55gal. Wash it for a while and even when your done, be ready to let your water settle for a day or two. There was a layer of white dust on top of mine that had to be siphoned off. Be patient, is a bit annoying at first but it looks great in the end. On a side note, what kind of lighting came with the kit?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ESeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank, question, questions, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions Questions Questions! samram0829 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 04-17-2015 03:53 PM
Questions, questions, questions... PossibleOwner Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 11-13-2012 10:33 PM
Questions...questions and more questions Sparkle852 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-13-2010 08:09 PM
Questions, Questions Questions. fishygurl Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 06-12-2006 02:27 AM
Questions, questions, questions. dsa Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 04-05-2004 01:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×