Interpreting Test Kit Results

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pantaz

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm very new to this. I'm using the API Freshwater Master Test Kit, and I'm very frustrated. I simply can't determine a definitive match between the colors in the test tubes and the colors on the card. Also, to my eyes, the colors on the card for Nitrate 10ppm and 20ppm are identical, as are the 40ppm & 80ppm colors.

To my eyes, I call the results as:
  • pH 8.0-8.2
  • Ammonia 0.25
  • Nitrite 5+
  • Nitrate 10-20

Ammonia is fairly easy, since it's supposed to be as low as possible, any color progression is pretty obvious. I have the most trouble with reading Nitrite and Nitrate.

Here are photos from my latest test:

Nitrite
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/G4-bdKUi2U57bMaGJiv9xw?feat=directlink
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/VRMKbCpTPQUnSDZNSZOKtQ?feat=directlink

Nitrate
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/D_N0FIacXKh27T__34-U8Q?feat=directlink
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/NrnlicPt4YqvVAQ8pFxTIw?feat=directlink

(The camera alters the colors somewhat, so I changed angles slightly to reduce reflections. The colors in the darker photos are closer to what I actually see in the test tubes.)

I just lost everything to Ich, so I'm basically starting over. It's been 12 days since the last fish was removed. I've done several 10%-20% water changes and gravel vacuumings. A couple of days ago I added Stress Zyme. Yesterday I did a 50% water change and put in a new filter element (Aqueon QuietFlow 10). I want to start adding fish, but I don't know if my water is ready.

You are FAR from being ready my friend. Since you've got an empty tank the best thing would be to do a fishless cycle to get it ready for stocking. Take a quick peek at the link in my signature.