Is this really possible? (Fishless cycle question)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aidenagreen

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all, I'm not new to keeping fish but I am starting my first tank in almost 10 years. I've never done a fishless cycle before so I thought I'd try that out. I've been cycling my 40g tank for about 3 weeks now using pure ammonia and I've been testing daily since my ammonia started dropping but it's been a slow process (4-5 days between dosing and when it would hit 0). Today it's been about 3 days since my last test and ammonia addition. 0ppm ammonia for the first time, nitrite and nitrate, they both turned dark purple and dark red (respectively) immediately after I shook them. So after work today I did a 50-60% water change, added ammonia, and let it wait. When I checked, the nitrite and nitrate both turned dark purple and dark red again but not quite as quickly this time, it took about 4 minutes to get to full color. My main question after this wall of text is pretty simple: is it really possible for that much ammonia and nitrate to still be left over after that much of a water change?

Yup, possible. I'd do another water change to get nitrites down and not add any ammonia until the nitrite levels go down to zero. Otherwise your cycle will stall.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I think you mean nitrite and nitrate, and yes, they can still be elevated after a large water change. You may need to perform additional water changes to bring them down.