jumpstarting cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shayfish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am about to start a fishless cycle on a 33 gal. I have an established 55 that I would like to use to get the new one going. The filter on the established tank is rena xp3, but the new tank I would like to use a small hob or ugf since its for acfs. I have never done this before. What exact media do I use out of the xp3 and what do I do with it? I am going to decide on and purchase a filter for the new tank in the next day or so.

TIA.

Cut a sponge to fit the new HOB from the pad in the xp and stuff it it in. You should have little or no cycle that way. Get an AC HOB filter. Their media chambers are very flexible for any type of media.

Why use a HOB? You know how sexy and great that Rena is, just get a XP2 and save yourself some trouble :)

If getting a HOB I'd recommend the AC50 filter. I have it on my 20gallon and its overkill, should be perfect for the 33. And as already said, cut a cruddy sponge from the xp3 and cram it in for 1 or 2 of the inserts of the HOB. You really shouldn't have ANY cycle if you use 2 inserts worth of seed material.

I'd recommend using a seed sponge from the xp3 on the bottom, biomedia such as the ceramic balls they supply in the middle, and then another seed sponge on the top. This is the setup I use and it works quite well. Water comes in at the bottom layer and works its way upwards through the filter. This is somewhat of a pain during cleaning since the lowest insert is always the dirtiest, but they are so quick to clean compared to a canister, on smaller tanks I prefer them.