Just setup my tank, am I doing anything wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

firteen888

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey all,

I'm brand new to the world of fish/aquariums. Last week I purchased and setup a new 29 gallon tank. After doing some research on these forums, I realized the initial setup of an aquarium isn't as simple as I thought it was. I'm currently cycling my tank (fish-less cycle using ammonia) but I want to make sure I'm doing everything correctly. While I'm anxious to go get fish, I want to make sure I'm offering my fish the best possible home that I can.

I took a quick video of my tank and posted it to youtube here YouTube - Is this air stone too strong? . I'm wondering if you guys can take a quick look at the video and let me know if it looks like I may be doing anything wrong. My main concern is the airstone I have setup. I'm concered that it could be too strong for the fish. As you can see in the video, it causes lots of movement on the surface, which I'm not sure is OK or not.

Basically, any advice/critique you guys can give me regarding my setup would be great. I'm a complete noob and just want to offer the best for the fish.

Thanks in advance!

no there's othing wrong and the airstone should be perfectly fine but depends on the fish a betta would have a hard time in those bubbles so if you've got a stockinglist could you post it?

allaboutfish said:
no there's othing wrong and the airstone should be perfectly fine but depends on the fish a betta would have a hard time in those bubbles so if you've got a stockinglist could you post it?

No necessarily. A lot of peoples bettas swim through the current for fun. It's not as uncommon as you might think.