Let's talk about a 10g set-up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Herky213

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everybody,

I currently have a 10g aquarium set up in my dorm room. I am relatively new to keeping aquariums, but I'll try to provide as much info as possible.

In my tank I have:
-1 upside-down catfish (who eats leftovers, and makes a great scavenger at night)
-5 tiger barbs

The products I use are:
-Prime (double dose since I use the dorm water)
-Tetra EasyBalance
-Tetra SafeStart

I constantly fight high (safe) free ammonia (NH4), which is probably due to a stint where I had my roommate keep my fish and he really OVERFED them.
Also, I have never seen fish fight more than two of my larger barbs do. I feel like I should go get more larger barbs, because I heard the larger the school of barbs the less they fight, but if I get more fish, I am really risking the overcrowding situation.
More fish = higher ammonia = more stress = more fighting = more fish.

So... I ask the community of aquariumadvice.com, What should my next move be?

Well, none of those fish should be in a 10 gallon, sorry. Tiger barbs need a lot of swimming room and grow fairly large, too large for a 10 gallon. And an upside down catfish will grow to 4 inches, which is also too big for a 10 gallon. I would recommend getting rid of all of those fish and getting new fish. Some new fish would be:
Celestial pearl danios
Microrasboras such as boraras brigittae (chili rasbora)
Ember tetra
Least killifish

And some others.

Also, do you know how to cycle a tank/is the tank cycled?

Welcome to Aquarium Advice, if you need any help please feel free to PM me!