Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-16-2006, 05:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
Live sand and freshwater (changing from saltwater)

I currently have a saltwater tank set up and I am switching to freshwater. I currently have live argonite sand in the tank. If I clean this well (removing the salt) can I use it in a freshwater tank? It cost a LOT and is very pretty. If I can use it, would it be okay for all types of freshwater fish? Thanks
__________________

__________________
heartsx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 08:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Argonite will raise you kh and ph. It really only works with African cichlids. With most other Fw fish it is not a good choice as a substrate.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 08:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 820
Just thinking out loud because I'm new to the SW end.

But I'm thinking the argonite substrate will drive the PH up....perhaps uncomfortably so for most FW fish.

I'm not saying most FW fish can not tolerate it,but acclimation of new fish will be a bear imo.

My advice...buy pool filter sand.Its cheap and looks pretty good too.(gota wash it too)
__________________
Fatz

90g SW FOWLR
50g tall fw planted at .6wpg
29g fw planted at 1.2 wpg
10g fw planted at 3 wpg cf
SCFatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 10:56 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
It depends on what your pH is to start with. If it is already 8.0, then the sand won't change it much (equilibrium pH for carbonates is around 8.2).

It is possible to acclimatize most FW fish to higher pH, as long as it is stable. But if you don't have to, why bother.
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, freshwater, live, live sand, salt, saltwater, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquarium Freshwater Live Sand.... Lonewolfblue General Retailers 1 12-23-2006 04:06 PM
CARIBSEA argonite SAND---Freshwater or only Saltwater SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-05-2006 11:02 AM
Changing substrate from gravel to live sand - question Rob Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 04-27-2004 03:54 PM
Changing from Saltwater to freshwater mslittlebear Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-11-2003 06:34 PM
How long can live sand stay live in a bucket of saltwater? copester Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 12-08-2002 12:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×