Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2011, 02:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Post Log For Cycling My Twenty Gallon High

Well everyone seems to be doing logs nowadays on cycling tanks, so why not give it a shot?

Day 1! Yay cycling begins! Currently putting in a new sponge in my old filter and going to switch it out with my old sponge which will go into the twenty gallon filter. Am I already making a mistake or is this fine?

Going to go down to the LFS and grab a API Freshwater Test Kit! Then will buy gravel and some plants and let cycling begin!

How am I doing so far?
__________________

__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:24 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 166
Hello,

So your adding established filter media to a new filter and putting new filter media in the old one? am I correct?
__________________

__________________
Crypto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Yep. Is that okay??? I have never cycled a tank in my life so I'm pretty clueless on it.
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:30 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 166
Yep, that is just fine! The new cycled filter media should cycle it within a few days (That means you need to start adding fish soon so the bacteria wont die ~ lack of ammonia).
__________________
Crypto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 04:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
zparticle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Westminster, CO, USA
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinsbro1997 View Post
Currently putting in a new sponge in my old filter and going to switch it out with my old sponge which will go into the twenty gallon filter. Am I already making a mistake or is this fine?
I'm sorry I can't make sense of that, lol. Are you replacing the filter in existing cycled tank with a brand new filter? Isn't that a bad thing? Removing the bio filter from a running tank seems like a bad idea.

I'm probably just misunderstanding.
__________________
Like I told my last wife, I says, "Honey, I never drive faster than I can see. Besides that, it's all in the reflexes."
zparticle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 04:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Yes that's what I'm doing, I was thinking if I put the sponge in I have now into the filter I have for my twenty gallon and start cycling, it will go by faster. By the time its done cycling won't the new sponge I have put into my main tank's filter be seeded?
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 04:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
zparticle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Westminster, CO, USA
Posts: 1,235
Well most of the bacteria live in the sponge so if you take it out the main tank is going to be without any bacteria that could crash it.
__________________
Like I told my last wife, I says, "Honey, I never drive faster than I can see. Besides that, it's all in the reflexes."
zparticle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 04:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Oh yeah, sorry if I got you guys mixed up! I also have two other filter medias in the tank, carbon and ceramic crushed up stones. Will those have enough beneificial bacteria you think?
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:56 AM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 166
Hello,

If they are the ones that were in the old filter, then yes, that should be enough
__________________
Crypto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:16 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Hang on...we're getting off to a somewhat good but confusing start.

How are you cycling? Fishless or with fish?

First, unless it is a ton of established media (a heck of a lot more than a sponge) the idea of cycling in a few days is borderline ludicrous unless we are talking about an extremely light bio-load.

I'll be happy to help as much as I can...but I need to know what the method is. If fishless, what is the ammonia source? If fish-in, what are you considering stocking it with?
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:28 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruinsbro1997
Yes that's what I'm doing, I was thinking if I put the sponge in I have now into the filter I have for my twenty gallon and start cycling, it will go by faster. By the time its done cycling won't the new sponge I have put into my main tank's filter be seeded?
What I would do is put the new filter media in front of the old one and leave it running on your cycled tank for about a week the switch the new media into the filter on your new tank try it that way and you should have no damage done to your established tank

I don't like taking any chances with my cycled tanks that's why I buy lots of extra floss media and stuff it in my filters so when I get a new tank I can just pull some out and add it to my new tanks filter
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:22 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan-peddle View Post
What I would do is put the new filter media in front of the old one and leave it running on your cycled tank for about a week the switch the new media into the filter on your new tank try it that way and you should have no damage done to your established tank

I don't like taking any chances with my cycled tanks that's why I buy lots of extra floss media and stuff it in my filters so when I get a new tank I can just pull some out and add it to my new tanks filter
Alright, got it!

I think I'm going to let this thread die off, sadly the twenty gallon high was returned. And my thirty gallon will be given away to my little cousin. Fortunately, my mom bought me a forty gallon breeder, but to keep from getting off topic that will be a whole nother thread. So thank you for the responses guys!
__________________

__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, log

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
75 Gallon Planted build w/sump Sparky74 DIY Projects 20 11-11-2011 12:51 PM
New Twenty Gallon Tank for My Little Cousins' Birthday! bruinsbro1997 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 07-11-2011 06:49 PM
Hello from Austin Texas-Stocking Idea 60 Gallon ROCCSTAR79 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 07-06-2011 03:14 PM
fishfanatsics 40 gallon high aquarium fishfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 40 07-03-2011 10:07 AM
possible 55 gallon? allaboutfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 78 06-28-2011 04:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×