Making sure im doing maintenance on my tank right

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Goldfish lover

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone. I have been keeping fish for 5 years now, but I wanted to make sure that I am doing things right. Some questions are: How often do I change the carbon filter, How to keep the beneficial bacteria alive and not accidentally kill them off. What to clean, and not what to clean. I have been doing the water changes every two weeks, is that bad to do. I also have a aerator for the tank. Is there anything special I should do with goldfish? Also I have four goldfish in a 55 gallon tank, and i was also wondering if I could add more to the tank. Thanks.

Welcome to the site :). First, never change your filter until it is literally falling apart. Just swish it around in a bucket of tank (not tap) water during pwc's to clean the debris off...then stick it right back in. The vast majority of your beneficial bacteria lives in the filter media, so by replacing it you lose a huge portion and it can lead to mini-cycles and ammo spikes. Carbon in general isn't necessary unless you are trying to remove medicine or odor from the tank. It's just a sales gimmick to make you buy something every month.

Weekly pwc's are recommended. The goal is to keep your nitrAtes at or below 20. The water changes also provide other benefits...so don't only judge when you need to do them off your no3 level. Just a good weekly 25% pwc and a gravel vac is all that's usually needed.