Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-22-2018, 04:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Max Nitrate Troubleshooting

So I run a maintenance company and have a client with the attached 164g freshwater tank and sump. Livestock is one adult massive pleco and three medium angelfish. No live plants. Only carbon for chem filtration.

I have been working on her tank for two months and cannot get her nitrate levels below 200ppm. So much so that algae is clogging up her 7" filter sock in a matter of days.

I have done 50% water changes every week and even replaced the substrate with a 75% water change. The home was purchased with the tank in this condition.

I need ideas. I just added Purigen and have asked her to consider live plants in a refugium. What possibly could be causing such high nitrates? Ideas to decrease? Thanks.

Old 10-22-2018, 04:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wwidener View Post
So I run a maintenance company and have a client with the attached 164g freshwater tank and sump. Livestock is one adult massive pleco and three medium angelfish. No live plants. Only carbon for chem filtration.

I have been working on her tank for two months and cannot get her nitrate levels below 200ppm. So much so that algae is clogging up her 7" filter sock in a matter of days.

I have done 50% water changes every week and even replaced the substrate with a 75% water change. The home was purchased with the tank in this condition.

I need ideas. I just added Purigen and have asked her to consider live plants in a refugium. What possibly could be causing such high nitrates? Ideas to decrease? Thanks.
Here are the photosClick image for larger version

Name:	1540236950624.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	129.7 KB
ID:	310724Click image for larger version