Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-04-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Messed up cycle?

So I had a 10 gallon tank that I was doing a fish in cycle in and I was in the middle of the cycle and had nitrites for about 2 weeks. I couldn't help my addiction to this hobby and I upgraded too soon to a 50 gallon and moved the filter media from the smaller tank into the bigger one and for the last month I have had nitrites and a little ammonia . I have 9 fish in this tank . Did I mess up my cycle? I have two 50 gallon filters on this tank. How much longer can I expect to be cycling?
__________________

__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Calypso77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 654
Fish in cycles take usually 8 weeks.
__________________

__________________
Calypso77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 1,622
My 46g took about 6 wks on its Fish IN cycle & my 10g took 8 wks. Nitrites in my 10g lasted 2 wks & the 46g only had them for a day so every tank is different. If you've had nitrItes for 2 wks I'd say you are REALLY REALLY close, mine were just gone one day. I tested for a week after to make sure.
__________________
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ThomasG07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by shellieca
My 46g took about 6 wks on its Fish IN cycle & my 10g took 8 wks. Nitrites in my 10g lasted 2 wks & the 46g only had them for a day so every tank is different. If you've had nitrItes for 2 wks I'd say you are REALLY REALLY close, mine were just gone one day. I tested for a week after to make sure.
Thanks for the info
__________________
ThomasG07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:01 PM   #5
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
If you moved the media from the 10 to the 50 it shouldn't have messed up anything. lf you added more fish when you upgraded before the cycle was complete, that is probably why you're continuing to see toxins. What fish are in there now? Are you doing water changes to combat the toxins? Also keep an eye on PH; if it drops too much it can slow things (mid-low 6's). Here's a link if you haven't seen it: I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×