My very own 75g stocking / build thread!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MartinBlank

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I have purchased a 75 gallon and will be receiving it next week. So wanted to start my very own build thread.

I am still a novice here, so I will have a lot of questions. If what I am planning sounds like a terrible idea to you, please let me know.

I plan on going with 2 Aquaclear HOB filters (a 70 and a 110).
Pool Filter Sand for Substrate
It isn't going to be planted. I don't think I am quite ready for that yet :D So it will be artificial.
Planning on doing the fishless cycle.
I also plan on taking the set up very slowly, trying to avoid that point where the tank is full of water (or worse yet full of water and fish) and I think "Darn, I wish I would have done this this way". I would have done my current 10g differently than I did if I could do it all over again.

My current stocking plan:
8-10 White Clouds (6 are moving over from my 10g)
10-12 Cardinal Tetras (a favorite of my wife)
8-10 Cory Catfish (would love recommendations on types)
6-8 Cherry Barbs
6-8 Dwarf Rainbowfish

And then after that I was thinking of some non-schooling fish in the "centerpiece" vein of things, though not so big that they will eat my other fish.

Some ideas I had were perhaps a pair (male/female) of dwarf gouramis and then perhaps 2-4 Angelfish? Any other ideas?

Any fish that you think I am missing? I have read a lot of good things about Otos. Recommend? There will be at least one piece of driftwood in the tank.

I don't think this will be totally overstocked as far as bio-load. But obviously I could be wrong (if so please tell me).