Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-03-2006, 02:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Need help with new tank

I just bought a 29 gallon tank yesterday. It came with a filter, water conditioner, and a few other things (the tank is at my parents, they are going to have to help me bring it in today- Today I will buy the stand, gravel, plastic plants (as a beginner I don't want to mess with real plants) I've done some research as to what fish are easy to keep together. I am thinking a live bearer tank with some of the following fish: mollies, swordtails, barbs, and tetras, with maybe a pleco or two for the bottom. Which of these are easy for beginners? I'm not THAT much of a beginner-I kept oscars for a while, but in retrospect I realize the tank was very overcrowded and its a miracle they lasted as long as they did. I've kept goldfish for quiet a while, and had a tank full of feeder guppies that multiplied quite a bit. I am very new at tropical fish like the types listed above. I have a couple questions.

1. The site I read said that these fish like to school together, especially the tetras. Can I combine different types of tetras- get five of different kinds instead of five of the same kind?
2. I have never used a tester kit before. Which kind should I get and how often should I use it? Is it hard to use?
2. Are weekly water changes enough?
3. All these fish I have been looking at are small. Are there any bigger fish (mabye up to 6 inches) I could put in there that won't eat them?
4. How long should I let the tank sit before putting the fish in?
I've gotten a few different answers on this.

Thanks so much!
Sarah

Old 05-03-2006, 02:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
1. Tetras will mostly only school with their own kind.