Need some advice/help with my fishless cycling please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dsun

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all, I am new to the hobby. I just set up my 55G tank for cichlids and I am a bit confused on if my fishless cycling is working or not.

Here is my log so far...

tap water baseline
nitrite .50
nitrate 10 or 20, API master test kit color guide looks too similar for my crappy eyes

I skipped testing on days 1-2, i initially added to 2ppm ammonia

Day 3: ammonia - 0.5 /nitrite - 5 ppm / nitrate - 5 or 10?

day 4: amonia .5 /nitrite -5 ppm / nitrate 10

day 5: ammonia .25 > raised to 4 / nitrite 5ppm /nitrate 10 or 20

day 6 skipped testing

day 7: ammonia - 0.25 then raised to 4 /nitrite off the chart as usual / Nitrate at 40 or 80, def increase! hard to tell difference as the test colors are so simiar

PH has been 8.0 to 7.8 the whole time

Why did my nitrite go through the roof on day 3? Doesn't it take awhile before it shows up?
Should I keep dosing ammonia everytime it gets low?
Should I do a PWC to bring down nitrites?
I am losing water due to evaporation with my heater set on 80 and I added some distilled water to bring the levels up a bit, is that ok?

Thank you for helping a newbie!

Why did my nitrite go through the roof on day 3? Doesn't it take awhile before it shows up?

That is strange. Yes, usually the nitrite takes a while to show up. Hoping somebody more experienced has some ideas and can give you an answer.

Should I keep dosing ammonia everytime it gets low?

Yes. Be careful not to put in too much - you just want to keep that bacteria growing. Keeping the level between 2 - 4ppm should be okay.

Should I do a PWC to bring down nitrites?