Need some help with Tap Water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

greyboysix

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a newbie here, and I'm hoping for some advice. Y'all definitely seem to know what you're talking about. I guess anyone else that lives where I do, just north off Philly, would have the same problem.. I just set up a 29 Gallon freshwater (I'll list my full set-up at the end), and I'm worried about the water I have coming out of the tap. Using an API Master Test Kit, there's no ammonia, nitrites, or nitrates, but it's got a high pH of about 7.8-8.0. I also got a quick dip test from Jungle, and it's telling me that I do have Nitrates (barest pigmentation on the stick, might be eyes playing tricks on me), the Nitrites are pretty much the same (might be eyes playing tricks), the total hardness (GH) is about 300 (which, it says, is VERY hard), there's NO chlorine, the total alkalinity (KH) is between 180 and 300 (closer to, if not, 300. Which is, of course, high), and again, a pH of between 7.8 and 8.2. Now, I just set the tank up YESTERDAY, and haven't tried to cycle it yet. What the **** can I do?
I repeatedly read that it's better to not do anything to change the chemistry of your water, that all it does is stress the fish. But, what the heck fish is going to thrive in water like that? The local fish store (pet smart, I live in a burg. Closest true aquarist place I've heard of is in South Philly) says that they condition all their water. I really do want a thriving fish tank, but I'm worried that with my water chemistry, or without dumping gallons of chemicals in there with the poor fish, anything I put in there will be dead within the day. Am I worrying too much? Will things change after I cycle the tank? If they will change, how bad will the swings be when I do my water changes? Thanks people. Any help would be awesome.
The set-up