Needing some pointers on cycling and basics

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jadedrain_06

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello all,
I am new to the hobby but have always loved watching friend's and families aquariums. I do know about the cycling process and have 2 10 gallon tanks that I am trying to cycle. I know the size limits the amount of fish and size of fish I can have being a military family I don't want to go too big since we move every couple years. I was trying to do a fishless cycle with fish food for about 4 weeks and got talked into adding 3 guppies to one tank and 3 glo fish to the other by a Petsmart employee. They dropped like flies. Clamped fins and some even have little red spots on them (ruptured blood vessels?). I felt absolutely horrible. I went today to a local family owned pet store and bought an established filter from them to seed our one tank and then I plan on moving it to the next to do the same. I do have the API testing kit and have been monitoring the water every other day, doing 20-30% water changes when a fish dies or atleast every other day. My pH in both tanks ranges from 7.4-8.5. The GH and KH are always maxed. No nitrites or nitrates yet and ammonia is always around .25ppm. So I am unsure why the fish died. I know there are typically casualities when cycling with fish but 6 in a 24 hour period does not seem right to me. Is it my pH? I have tried to use API pH down and it will drop to 7.0-7.4 but within a day it is back up to 8.0 atleast. Our tap water is typically around 7. I have read up on buffers and reverse osmosis but the RO systems are not only expensive but confusing. Be kind please! I am educating myself as best I can but I swear as soon as I finish reading one thing it adds another question to the mix. Thanks! :)

Welcome to AA!