New 10 gallon tank - Betta and Pleco not getting along?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xxDriftingAway

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello.

I am a college student and this is my first time owning fish. I originally made the mistake of getting 10 fish in a 3 gallon aquarium and 9 died. I had mainly neon tetras but also 2 barbs and a pleco. The pleco was the only one to survive. Well, I kept him in that tank for a week and decided to return it (bought it from walmart and they take anything to be returned as long as you have the receipt).

Before I returned it though I went to Petsmart and got some advice from the employee in the fish department. I really don't like them after what happened to my dog in their grooming place but alas I needed real advice since I couldn't rely on my parents as they aren't "experts" though neither is Petsmart but they are as close as I decided to get.

ANYWAY, I set up my tank yesterday after letting it filter for 24 hours and Joe, my Pleco, seemed like it was dying in the water I had him in temporarily so I put him in and he "came back to life". He was pale in the temp water but his color came back after 2 minutes in my new tank.

I then added Jill, my betta, to the tank. At first everything was great. Then all of a sudden she got too close to Joe and attacked him and this being my first betta, I freaked out. Then I read that as long as your Pleco doesn't seem injured it is fine.

I haven't **seen them fight since but I noticed a whole in one of his fins and another fin on the other side wasn't all stretched out like the rest were when he was sucking on the wall.
I wanted to make sure he could swim so I lightly piked him with the net. He can swim, and fast but he has been hiding ever since. It has been at least 5 minutes now.
He has never hid from me before though he never could before.