Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-10-2014, 10:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

New 10 gallon tank - Betta and Pleco not getting along?

Hello.

I am a college student and this is my first time owning fish. I originally made the mistake of getting 10 fish in a 3 gallon aquarium and 9 died. I had mainly neon tetras but also 2 barbs and a pleco. The pleco was the only one to survive. Well, I kept him in that tank for a week and decided to return it (bought it from walmart and they take anything to be returned as long as you have the receipt).

Before I returned it though I went to Petsmart and got some advice from the employee in the fish department. I really don't like them after what happened to my dog in their grooming place but alas I needed real advice since I couldn't rely on my parents as they aren't "experts" though neither is Petsmart but they are as close as I decided to get.

ANYWAY, I set up my tank yesterday after letting it filter for 24 hours and Joe, my Pleco, seemed like it was dying in the water I had him in temporarily so I put him in and he "came back to life". He was pale in the temp water but his color came back after 2 minutes in my new tank.

I then added Jill, my betta, to the tank. At first everything was great. Then all of a sudden she got too close to Joe and attacked him and this being my first betta, I freaked out. Then I read that as long as your Pleco doesn't seem injured it is fine.

I haven't **seen them fight since but I noticed a whole in one of his fins and another fin on the other side wasn't all stretched out like the rest were when he was sucking on the wall.