New 125g tank - Need advice for fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

maro1107

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been reading postings on this site for some time and just now became a member since we purchased a 125 gallon tank last night! The only experience I have so far is with a 10 gallon tank with puffers and goldfish (not together of course) and a 22 gallon red ear slider tank so I would say I'm still new to this.

This is what we got:

125 gallon glass tank
Fluval 404 filter
Air pump
stand (pine)
lights (basic florescent but would like to upgrade)
2 heaters
water conditioner

We paid $818 for everything which after checking out many specialty and chain stores we found to be a good deal in our area (I thought I'd share the price so other setting up a new tank could get an idea of cost).

Soooooo, with all that in mind, if it was your tank what type of fish would you go with? I'd LOVE to have a saltwater tank of course, but honestly I'm scared to. So we are going to go with freshwater but would still like to have some colorful fish. I like the albino oscars so I thought I may go with those but if someone out there has some ideas I'd love to hear them.

Thank you for your time for reading this and I'd appreciate any help you're willing to give!

-Rochelle

Hi Rochelle. Good luck with the tank. A 125 gives you so many options. Why not peruse a few of the lfs in your area and see what fish really appeal to you? Then you can come back here and discuss them. :D

Brian