Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-14-2013, 02:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
New 12G tank, stocking question

Hi all

I have a new 12 gallon tank that i currently have 3 tiger barbs in, they are very small not much bigger than a penny. I know they will grow larger. In the future after the tank has cycled I would like to put another fish or two in the tank that is not a tiger barb. Any suggestions given the aggression of the tiger barb. it is well planted with hiding spots.

On another note the tank has had tiger barbs in it for 72 hours. I have done 15% water changed all three days and done minimal deeding every 24 hours, ammonia and nitrate levels are at 0 pH is at 7.0. is this normal? I was expecting some elevated ammonia by now

thanks
__________________

__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 03:29 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
Welcome to AA! In regards to your ammonia question, what type of test are you using?

For the tiger barbs, I'm afraid you're going to need a bigger tank in the next few months if you plan on keeping them. They are very active swimmers, so they need a lot of space, and they can get super aggressive. As far as tankmates go, other moderately aggressive species would be okay. They tend to be nippers though, so you would need fast fish. (But that's just my opinion)
__________________

__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
I'm using the nutrafin Testkit that has ammonia oh nitrate and nitrogen
__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
I am unfamiliar with the nutrafin test kits, as I use API, but the nutrafin kits only have one bottle to test ammonia, correct? So you aren't potentially missing a step, right? I had a good friend that did that for the longest time
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 12:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Yes just one bottle they have two bottles for nitrate and nitrogen just one for ammonia. What step am I missing?
__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 01:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
If there is only one bottle, I doubt that you are missing a step.

At the same time though, it is odd that there isn't any signs of ammonia. Sorry I couldn't be more help! Maybe you just have clean fish!!!!
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 01:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
Perhaps the ammonia is being converted and used up by your plants? How heavily planted is the tank?
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:48 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
No, all artificial. Tonight ammonia check yielded a .2 ammonia reading, so seems eh cycle is starting. Did a 25% water change
__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
Sounds great! Make sure you keep a eye on the ammonia. Your tank will be cycled in no time!
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:14 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
In a week I has to go out of town for 3 days. Won't be able to monitor water:do water changes. I know this fish will be ok for a weekend without good, what would you suggest for ammonia levels? Was thinking about doing a gravel cleaning and 40% water change day before I leave and putting in a generous dose of prime to break up ammonia for 48 hours
__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
Somewhere between 40 and 60% at least would be good, then just check thehome levels as soon as you come back. I'm sure it will be fine. Do you have a timer for your lights?
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:57 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
I do not the room get a fair amount of natural and a room lamp will be left on fot home security purposes. I did t even think of this. Is it important?
__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:46 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
As long as there's some light it should be fine. It's usually more important for plants.
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 07:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by GNarnian View Post
As long as there's some light it should be fine. It's usually more important for plants.
Appreciate all of your help.

I ended up taking the barbs back to the lfs and getting;

5 xray tetra
1 dwaef gourami
2 juli cory

What do u think of that set up for 12g
__________________
craigsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:13 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
GNarnian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 437
That is more manageable! I have xray tetras too. They sure are different looking!
__________________
Sanding acrylic is scary
GNarnian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:55 AM   #16
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
Better, but I'd say the corys need a larger tank (ideally they'd need more in their group as well but a 12 gal would be too tight).
__________________

__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12g, question, stocking, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×