New 150 Gal. pH Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Adzatious

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Guys, my name's Adam and I'm a science student from Australia.
I've just bought myself a new 150 Gal tank and believe it or not I'm still not exactly sure what I am going to be putting in it.
I had been liking the idea of setting up a really nice planted discus tank with maybe some larger tetras or some rams.... but most of the fish I was hoping to keep require acidic pH... and when I test the water straight out of my tap it comes out at about 7.8 or so.
Should I not even hope to keep discus with tap water like this? Or is there a reliable way I can always control my pH. I figure with a fairly large tank, any changes should occur slowly enough that I can detect them...
What do you guys think? Work out how to lower pH, or change my fish choice?
Is my test showing the true pH if I take it straight out of the tap? (Because I heard most city water is soft and acidic)
Anyway thanks in advance for any advice you can give me... I'm completely open to any great suggestions you guys have for a tank theme or type of setup or the type of fish I Have.... seeing as my "Amazonian rainforest masterpiece" doesn't seem as viable after testing the tap water.
Cheers,
Adam

hmm i always thought city water was soft and well water was soft. i got a ph of 7.2 living in countryish area. most people say "a constant 7.6 is better then a unstable 7.2" but ive never had discus. you can lower your ph by c02. for that sized it would probally have to be pressureized. or you can use peat. which will turn your water yellow.

So C02 reduces pH aswell?
so if I used CO2 I could lower pH and grow healthy plants. Sounds like a win-win to me.... only I don't know very much about CO2 injection?