New 29 - Cycle Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jessebs

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to aquariums, and am in the process of setting up my new 29 gallon tank, but I have a question about fishless cycling.

A lot of the posts I have read mention having an airstone for a fishless cycle. Is this necessary? I don't really want to go out and buy a stone and pump just for the cycle process.

I'm new to aquariums, and am in the process of setting up my new 29 gallon tank, but I have a question about fishless cycling.

A lot of the posts I have read mention having an airstone for a fishless cycle. Is this necessary? I don't really want to go out and buy a stone and pump just for the cycle process.

I don't think its a necessity but someone else may offer their opinion in favor of. I think the airstone is to help circulate/oxygenate the water better as when doing a fish LESS cycle the tank temp is usually about 84-85F & when water is warmer there is less oxygen exchange.

Ugh, I'm starting to get some algae grown, and I just wrapped up my first 24 hours of the cycle. I'm assuming it probably tagged along on the plant.

Is there anything I can do to stop it from taking over? I can't leave the light off because of the plant.

You can turn off the light at night i think. I am pretty sure plants don't need 24/7 lighting.

Well did you test your tap water for nitrates? More algae when theres lots of nitrates.

An air stone isn't necessary, no. As long as there is sufficient surface agitation from the water flowing into the tank from your filter it should be enough.

What kind of algae? What does it look like?

After more research, it looks like it might be a bacteria colony. Has anyone seen this before? Is it a problem for my cycle? Since it seems to be thriving, my good bacteria will have to compete, correct?