New 29g FW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

monaro_gto

Aquarium Advice Activist
This is my first time starting a tank. Its a 29g Fw tank. Im doing a fish in cycle and I have the API master test kit and everything I hopefully need to keep on top of things.

Just got home with my new community.
1 Aussie Rainbow
1 BA tetra
1 red wag platy
1 micky mouse platy
and 1 creamsicle molly

Attachments

• fishtank640.jpg
    fishtank640.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 54
So not enough research on my part. Looking for advice though.

I mistaking did not realize the Australian Rainbow fish likes company and that the Buenos Aires tetra was such an aggressive little fish. I do like the rainbow fish how ever so should I maybe return the Tetra and get two more rainbows? Would 3 be enough for company and is that still ok size wise? I know these guys can get up to 8" long.

Most tetras need to be in a group of 4 bare bones minimum, with five or more of the same species being much better. Buenos aires tetras are known to be more nippy and with only one, that may make it even more agressive.

For a fish in, I'd have no more than 3 smallish, or mabye 4 if tetras to help give them a little school, in a 29 gal, but others may disagree.

I'm guessing a local chain store sold you this combination? I'd see if I could rehome the tetra for sure. I don't know much about Rainbows, but you already know it wants company, so rehoming it would be best, also. Adding even more fish at this point would not be a good idea. The mollies and platies would be more than enough to start with.

Good luck with it. I have a 29 gallon tank too, and im fishless cycling before I get my first group of tetras. I'm sure you are reading all you can about fish in cycling and will stay on top of the frequent water changes. That's essential to success and the health of your fish.