New 29G tank ready for fish...Input welcomed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RobStapp1985

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all!

So the waiting is over and I have finally gotten my tank ready for fish. Going into this I had a vision of what I wanted in my tank but as I am just a newbie I figured I would reach out and ask more seasoned vets for their opinions.

The following is what I would like to have. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

7- Zebra Danios
4- Black Phantom Tetras
4- Black Neon Tetras
1- Kuhli loach
1- Regular Pleco
1- Hillstream Loach
6- Ghost Shrimp
3- Bamboo Shrimp
2- African Dwarf Frogs

What is the temp of your tank? and what are your water params? trinidad pleco (common) need 125g+, hillstream loach also aren't suitable for that tank size, I would up the black neons, and phantoms to atleast 6+. also kuhli loaches are social creatures, and really don't belong in a group of less than 6, although 8 is more ideal. I wouldn't do the ADFs, as they will most likey get outcompeted for food.

My pH is 6.0 and water temp is 78...I can lose the frogs and loaches as you are right they are better in a group...could I do a smaller pleco perhaps like a clown or would you do mossballs? This is really for my little girls so some of these fish like the frogs and loaches were just cool looking...i was kind of trying to get that bottom middle and top covered.

By water params I actually meant ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates. yea it's a good idea not to do the frogs, and hillstream loach, but you could still do the kuhli's if you get a group of them... yes, you could do a smaller pleco, how about bristlenose, or like you mentioned a clown pleco should be fine as well.
if you decide on not doing the kuhli loaches either, how about a pair of bolivian rams in their stead?