New 30 Gallon...Seeking Advice on Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smn723

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys, I just found these forms a few days ago and am quite intrigued with the content provided. I am somewhat new to aquarium set ups but have had a couple 10 gallons running with fish and a few live plants (currently 3 including amazon sword and some crypts) the last 3 years. I have a new 30 gallon acrylic Sea Clear aquarium and am trying to figure out how to prep it. I have read a lot of the stickies and it is making my decisiveness drop. I already have the lights (currently 2x65 w compact flourescent, 1 6700 and 1 10000 with 1 lunar light) and have many components on order (Maxi-Jet powerhead for a little extra water movement, 150w heater, and some maintenance items) but am having some dillemma on the other accessories.

Primarily I am having indecisiveness when it comes to the filter. I am leaning towards a canister filter as that is what I am seeing most people using with good success in their planted aquariums. Please advise on components to add to this setup and a practical but well-priced filter system. I haven't had much luck in finding well-priced filters minus dr foster and smith's web site. Please help!!

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to AA!

Canister filters are almost a requisite to the planted tank. Provides greater gph, less gassing out of CO2 and shortens the tanks footprint by 5". You need look no further than here for some very good deals on canisters.

The CO2 equipment is necessary due to the amount of light you currently have. You have 130 watts, which comes to a little over 4 wpg. This is considered a high-light tank.

HTH