Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2013, 05:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southern ca
Posts: 36
New 40 gal tank help!

I am going to be starting a 40 gal tank this summer. How long will it take to cycle the tank? I have the bacteria starter. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Laurenlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 06:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Catfish Lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 287
Usually takes anywhere from 2-6 weeks. If the bacteria starter works you'll be closer to the 2 weeks. You could always do a fishless cycle also.
__________________

__________________
Catfish Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 12:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southern ca
Posts: 36
Would the fishless cycle take longer? Also when I am starting the tank, do I keep it at 78 degrees that the tank will be operating at?
__________________
Laurenlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 12:23 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Order a sponge from angels plus. Cycled my last tank fish in, instant cycle. But I started with a very low bioload (5 fish if I remember)


http://www.angelsplus.com/FiltersSpongeActive.htm
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 12:28 AM   #5
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurenlloyd View Post
Would the fishless cycle take longer? Also when I am starting the tank, do I keep it at 78 degrees that the tank will be operating at?
Please take some time to read the 'sticky' or pinned guide at the beginning of the Getting Started section. Start with the Guide to Starting a Freshwater tank article. It covers all the basics for starting a fw tank and the different methods for cycling.

Bottled bacteria products are hit or miss at best. If you can acquire some cycled filter media, this will be the most helpful in jump starting your cycle. You will need to decide if you plan on cycling fishless or fishin. From scratch (no cycled media), fishless typically takes 4-8 weeks and fishin 6-8+ weeks. Please ask if you have questions!
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 04:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southern ca
Posts: 36
I have used this same bacteria before and it worked.
__________________
Laurenlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 04:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southern ca
Posts: 36
What do you mean by cycled filter media? Could I use the bacteria from my other tanks?
__________________
Laurenlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ashleynicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurenlloyd View Post
What do you mean by cycled filter media? Could I use the bacteria from my other tanks?
Yes you can use some established filter media from an existing tank to boost the cycle.
__________________
ashleynicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 08:25 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Peteostler43614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rapid City SD
Posts: 144
Media from a running established tank should instantaneously cycle your tank. Make sure you slowly add fish though so you allow the bacteria to double naturally
__________________
Peteostler43614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:42 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southern ca
Posts: 36
Ok. I have done some reading but now I want to ask if my tanks filter will be strong enough? I have:a marineland filter pump with the tube and gravel box/filter on the end. It says 120 VAC 15AMP but nothing else. It pumps water up into the hood, through a cartridge(with the sponge and carbon tabs) and then over a bio wheel.
Then there is a 550 power head that cycles 145 Gallons/hour. (if I add this to the filter will it create a large current?) Thanks
__________________
Laurenlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:43 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Southern ca
Posts: 36
I will be using a sponge from one of my established tanks to cycle faster.
__________________

__________________
Laurenlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
40 gallon, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×