New 55 Gallon Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kdcorliss

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

A newbie here, I have had small 10 gallon tanks in the past but nothing in the past 5+ years.

I have just purchased the following:

All Glass/Tetra 55 Gallon Aquarium Kit
Perfecto Sedona Tank Stand

I have to thank people on this site as I saved a ton of money with buying my stand from Big Al's and using pool filter sand as a substrate instead of purchasing from the lfs. Which is information I have learned from reading posts here over the past couple weeks.

It has been almost 24 hours and the tanks temperature is 79 deg F and the heater and filter are up and running. There is no cloudiness in the water from adding water and sand to the tank. So I am hoping to start cycling soon.

I am waiting on my test kit and python from Big Al's at the moment. I have always cycled my earlier tanks with success using starter fish like barbs, danios, or tetras. But its been awhile and this is a larger tank so I am being cautious. I have read about fishless cycles and bio-spira but am thinking about sticking what has worked for me in the past.

My questions are as follows:

I havent added any decorations at this time, but is it ok to start cycling with starter fish and add decorations over time ?

In smaller tanks I just added a couple starter fish, in a 55 gallon tank how many should I add to start the cycle ?

If I choose a fishless cycle, can I start it prior to recieving my test kit ? I was thinking of just dropping a couple raw shrimp in there or is the ammonia method easier ?

Also is a background neccesary, my wife actually likes to see the red wall behind the tank or will it be too distracting ? I would hide the wiring, heater, and filter tube with some strategically placed tall plastic or silk plants.