new 80 gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

luk00

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, i have a new 80 gal tank and i am new to the hobbying, i have done lots of research but i came on here for more help, i have 6 mollys, 2 gouramis, and 2 angels, and 3 plecos. i have had a bacterial blossom that went away in 1 night and my ammonia levels seem to being staying below 0.25-0. its been set up a week.i do a 10% change every other day w gravel siphoning, any suggestions to keep my tank healthy?

also, is it normal for the ammonia levels too be at around .25 while cycling?

also, is it normal for the ammonia levels too be at around .25 while cycling?

Well, for fishless cycling they can be anywhere from 1-4 ppm, but since you are cycling with fish in the tank you want your fish not to be exposed to any amount of ammonia, so I would do a water change when you see an ammonia reading.

okay, thanks for the info, just siphoned almost all my tanks gravel and did a 15% change

i just tested and the color if the liquid test is much lighter but not quite at 0..

0.25 is fine in a fish in cycle, as long as you dose prime to detoxify it, need the ammonia to produce bacteria. No ammonia, no cycle.

Would not let get over that much.

Last edited:
0.25 is fine in a fish in cycle, as long as you dose prime to detoxify it, need the ammonia to produce bacteria. No ammonia, no cycle.

Would not let get over that much.

and how often during the cycle should i change and siphon the tank? more often?

When it gets dirty, feed lightly. Extra food will produce ammonia, fish will produce plenty by themselves.