new and need help with cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kieranhasfish

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
so i bought a 55 gallon tank from someone about a week and a half ago, im a beginner and he didnt tell me about the nitrogen cycle, the aquarium came with a 30-60 aquatech filter, 2 6inch airstones, a light, some plastic decorations and 15 fish, 2 bala shark 2 harlequin rasbora 4 guppies 1 green glo danio 2 serpae tetra 3 red columbian tetra 2 black skirt tetra. i added a heater the next day and have sice added 2 anubias plants, 2 peices of driftwood some bamboo, and before learning of the nitrogen cycle 3 dojo loaches. HERES THE TRICKY PART i did this completely wrong and did a full water change the day i got the tank, i have been doing 25-35% water changes every other or every day to keep ammonia down and have been testing for ammonia and nitrites daily, ammonia twice a day, nitrites always come up 0 and ammonia is between .25 and 1. should i continue doing water changes daily? i can never get ammonia to 0 (which i also dont want right?) but it is around .25 ppm or less after water change. basically i just want to know if theres anyway i can get my tank cycling without my fish dying.

I think that you should just let the aquarium reach its peak so all the good bacteria can grow, by now most of the fish will be used to the higher levels of ammonia and nitrites so you should be fine. The fish that I am most worried about are the tetras because they are not very hardy. You should be fine, but I would keep a close eye on the tetras, and if things get bad buy PRIME from seachem and add to the tank. It will detoxify the ammonia, and nitrites. I would stop with water changes and just let your fish get used to the water. Hope this helps ?