Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-11-2005, 11:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
New Aquarium Set Up

Hello new to the board. I just set up my 10 gal tank 5 days ago and i made the mistake of getting 6 fish fish right away. 3 of them died. I have a ph test kit and an ammonia test kit, they seem to be ok. Their are 4 fish remaining. 2 are tiger barbs, and the other 2 are gouramis. one of the gouramis tail is a little bitten on by the barbs. I know i made the mistake of getting fish right away, but now that i have some what are some suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 11:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
What are your test readings? You will be changing water a lot so be prepared.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 12:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
Tested The water

Hello tested the water and everything is fine. Our water is hard, and the amonia is 1.0. Also our tiger barbs are standing on their heads and flashing, they have been doing this the whole 5 days. The lady at pet smart said that they are hardy fish and that they will probadly survive. About the gouramis, the one with the bittn tail. Should I just leave him in there till he dies, will his tail put bad bacteria in my water? Also any advise for beginners, i had a fish tank like 3 years ago, so i need to be refreshed.
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 12:41 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 97
I am still new at this also. But I have read that adding fish to quickly throws off the biological filter and throws levels out of whack.
__________________
EMTtony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 12:58 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Change your water. Ammonia is to high. That is why the fish are flashing. Keep testing and when levels are too high change the water.

Good luck
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:24 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
Confused?

I heard that amonia will change to nitrate? Wont things even out without changing the water?
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:25 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
they were flashing when we first put them in there so changing the water will just make it worse.
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Highland, Texas
Posts: 521
Send a message via AIM to Hrafnkel Send a message via MSN to Hrafnkel Send a message via Yahoo to Hrafnkel
No it won't. It will help, if anything. How would it make it worse?
__________________
2.5gal: Empty
5gal: 2 Black Mystery Snails
10gal: 2 Mickey Mouse Platys (1M1F), 1 African Butterfly Fish, 3 Khuli Loaches
29gal: 1 Green Severum, 1 Convict, 3 Bronze Cories
55gal: 5 Bloodfin Tetras, 6 Black Skirt Tetras, 1 Blood Parrot, 1 African Brown Knife, 1 Striped Raphael, 1 Ropefish, 2 Clown Loaches, 1 Yoyo Loach, 1 Angelfish
Hrafnkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:33 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 275
Send a message via AIM to Konrade
There is no way changing the water will make it worse. You are changing the water to get your ammonia down. Nitrifying bacteria in your tank convert the ammonia to ntrite to nitrate and then to a harmless substance. That is why you cycle your tank to get your nitrifying bacteria colonies up and running.
__________________
Konrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:34 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
then we will have to start the biological filter thing over again. Will they survive if i dont change>? and if so how long will it be till they act normal? they are eathing still.
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:42 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
Ok why has the amonia built up so fast over 5 days? and if we do do this how much water do we change and will they survive? Also how do we know this wont happen when we change it?
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:44 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Highland, Texas
Posts: 521
Send a message via AIM to Hrafnkel Send a message via MSN to Hrafnkel Send a message via Yahoo to Hrafnkel
You have to do partial water changes. You don't drain all the water, just 15-30%. It will help, not make it worse. It doesn't start the biofilter over again, as the bacteria don't free float. Changing the water removes ammonia/nitrite/nitrate/whatever.
__________________
2.5gal: Empty
5gal: 2 Black Mystery Snails
10gal: 2 Mickey Mouse Platys (1M1F), 1 African Butterfly Fish, 3 Khuli Loaches
29gal: 1 Green Severum, 1 Convict, 3 Bronze Cories
55gal: 5 Bloodfin Tetras, 6 Black Skirt Tetras, 1 Blood Parrot, 1 African Brown Knife, 1 Striped Raphael, 1 Ropefish, 2 Clown Loaches, 1 Yoyo Loach, 1 Angelfish
Hrafnkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:45 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 80
well if you are goinig to start the biological filtering over again than you would probably have to take thye fish out to restart the cycling proccess. how long did you cycle the tank at first? i wouldn't say that you made a wrong choice in fish compatibility because at one time i had a school of about 10 tigerbarbs in a 30 gallon tank with a gourami and they lived peacefully but i think your tankl may be too small that fish compatibility. since the tank is small the are livivng together in close quarters and the barbs will take there nips at the gourami who is constantly in ther space. another factor is that the school of barbs is small so there nipping extends to other fish. i would put the gourami in another tank but if you don't have one then why not give it to a friend who has a tank
__________________
unfamous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:46 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
Ok why has the amonia built up so fast over 5 days?Also how do we know this wont happen when we change it?
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:48 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Highland, Texas
Posts: 521
Send a message via AIM to Hrafnkel Send a message via MSN to Hrafnkel Send a message via Yahoo to Hrafnkel
It builds up because the fish produce waste. Ammonia is that waste. What are you afraid will happen when you change the water? I don't understand what you're trying to ask. But if you mean "will it happen again?" then in a way, yes. Nitrates will build up once cycling is done and when they do you have to do more partial water changes.
__________________
2.5gal: Empty
5gal: 2 Black Mystery Snails
10gal: 2 Mickey Mouse Platys (1M1F), 1 African Butterfly Fish, 3 Khuli Loaches
29gal: 1 Green Severum, 1 Convict, 3 Bronze Cories
55gal: 5 Bloodfin Tetras, 6 Black Skirt Tetras, 1 Blood Parrot, 1 African Brown Knife, 1 Striped Raphael, 1 Ropefish, 2 Clown Loaches, 1 Yoyo Loach, 1 Angelfish
Hrafnkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:50 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
So do we have to treat the new water that we are going to put in there?
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:52 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
Unfamous - man we made a mistake and conditioned the water lets it sit for like 2 hours and then put the fish in it...
__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:52 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 80
treat it with the dechlore again. you are suppose to traet the water that you use in each water change
__________________
unfamous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:54 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 80
yeah you did make a mistake you are suppose to cycle the tank for at least a day if not longer
__________________
unfamous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 01:54 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tennessee
Posts: 41
So do i just fill up a bucket with like 1 1/2 to 3 gallons and treat it and pour it in? Do i have to let is sit for a while or what?And how often will i have to do this?
__________________

__________________
Clselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beginner wanting to set up aquarium... Need help ! bytan83 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 11-29-2005 11:26 AM
Just set-up my aquarium. gard Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 10-26-2005 12:55 AM
WTB Aquarium Set-up AccordAnimal Archive 0 05-16-2005 11:17 AM
best aquarium/tank set up. potato5656 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 02-26-2004 12:24 AM
has anyone set up a local aquarium? plkdb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 08-26-2003 10:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×