New here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MattJ

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi folks!

New here.

I have a 30" x 12" x 12" tank and it's currently cycling without fish.

Ammonia is currently showing as 2ppm and Nitrite and Nitrates are both 0.

I am looking for suggestions for which fish to keep?

Currently I have been advised to start out with 6 tetras, barbs or danios and build from there? I am new to keeping fish and am open to suggestions.

The missus is keen on GloFish (part of the danio group?) and Neon Tetras so ideally will have some of those in but what to start off with / what will go well with them - how many etc?

My question re: fishless cycling though is ...

I have only added one lot of ammonia (Wednesday I think it was) and did the tests today. Some guides say that you only need the one lot and some say to keep adding at intervals or when ammonia levels drop back down to 0ppm.

I have read the guide on here which conflicts with what I have been told previously.

Heat is high and the heater / filter are from an established tank - incl filter pads, etc (these are however in good condition so I have not replaced the pads).

What should my plan of action be?

As everyone is when getting a new tank - I just want to get my fish!! But I want to do this properly !!

U should keep test ur water parameters every few days. Until u get a drop in ammonia and increase in whatever. Then u can add more ammonia. If ur nitrite and nitrate reading go off the charts! Do a 50% pwc! High nitrite can cause ur cycle to stall and u don't want that do u :p!

MattJ said:
My question re: fishless cycling though is ...

I have only added one lot of ammonia (Wednesday I think it was) and did the tests today. Some guides say that you only need the one lot and some say to keep adding at intervals or when ammonia levels drop back down to 0ppm.