New Setup. Advice Please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HitTheRoadJack

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
It takes a lot for me too get used to this kind of thing.
Please bear with me.

I am not new to fish, but I am new at having my own tanks. My mom and I have had a 10 gallon tank for a while, and have had some relatively easy fish. Now that my mom has quit her aquarium she and my grandmother gave me each a 10 gallon tank.
Now I have a stand with two ten gallon tanks, and one seperate 6.5 gallon tank with my male betta in it.

I would like to know the possibilities of what I could have in these two tanks, since I have little space and a budget to stay on. I am going to sell some things to have some money in my fish fund. I am too young to get a job yet.

I have only two ten gallons.
Would like a community tank.

I'm probably not sure of what kind of filters I have, because everything I have is so old. probally as old as me. I'll try take some snaps asap and post them for everyone.

Thanks.
If I need to add anything else just tell me.

There are a lot of smaller fish that will work well in 10 gallons. Dwarf Platies are something I love watching at the fish store, even though I don't have any myself. Pygmy Cories would work with those as they also stay small and stay near the bottom. I personally love Harlquin Rasboras. They are inexpensive, at least in my area, at less than $1.00 each. They school well and are relatively small.

As far as filters and heaters, both can be obtained for about $10/each for each tank. AquaClear filters are about $10 online and any number of 50-watt heaters should work for your tanks.

Do you have any more information as to what type of fish you would like as far as what level they swim, how active they are, or anything else?

theotheragentm said: