New tank-Advice wanted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EmptyH

Aquarium Advice Regular
This is my first time having an aquarium and I want to try and do the best I can. I have a 55 gal tank which I bought on Saturday. I added two bags of gravel to the bottom, filled it full of water and added Aquarium Salt, De-clorinator, and a Cycle bateria. I hooked up a filter, water pump and heater and put a few decorations in the bottom.

Yesterday I got 5 Tiger Barbs, 1 Rainbow Shark and 1 Gold Gourami. The Tiger Barbs are very active, chasing each other and playing "tag". The Gourami and Rainbow Shark were both very shy. The shark found a nice spot under a sunken ship to hide out and the Gourami just stayed in the top corner of the tank.

This morning I decided to get a school of Malabar Danios. I got 5 of them and put them in and they are darting about and having a good ole time. The shark has started to come out and play and even the Gourami is moving about more. I was told by the lfs clerk that all of these fish a hardy and should be ok while the tank cycles.

I am not going to get any more fish until after it cycles, at which point I am thinking about getting 3 cories, a small pleco and maybe 5 neon tetras. Is this too many fish for my tank?

I have test strips to test the water and will be watching it closely. What else do I need to know to make sure my tank is happy and health?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.