New Tank/Cycling questions. . .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Phaedrus

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a complete novice and have a few questions. . .

At this point I have fill the tank (55 Gal) with water, added substrate and decorations, and set up my heater & filters but have not added any fish. I have read enough to know that new hobbyist often kill their fish and I would like to avoid doing so! I have a wife and daughter who are not as patient as I am and are begging to get some actual fish but I want to do it right. When all is said in done, I plan to have about 5 platies, 8 danios, 6 lemon tetras, 6 serpae tetras, and about 6 cory cats.

In any event my first question involves water quality. All I have done so far is add a dechlorinater and my water's ph is very high, about 8.4. It is my intention to have tropical/community fish and I know the ph is too high. I know there are chemical additives out there but should I use them? The book I have gotten the most benefit from is called "The Simple Guide to Freshwater Aquariums" by David Boruchowitz and he suggest that large and frequent (50% weekly) water changes will allow my fish to thrive even in such alkaline water. He seems to suggest that water consistency will more than make up for the chemistry.

Secondly, I am not sure about the best way to cycle the tank. I have seen several products that are supposed to help in this regard and I was wondering if this is better than other methods. In particular, I have seen a product called Bio-Spira mentioned in this forum. Does this work well and if so is it sold locally in most markets or must I mail order it?

Anyway, any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Welcome to Aquarium Advice, Phaedrus!! :mrgreen: