New tank filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

callylynn

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm waiting for my 20 gallon long acrylic tank to arrive. I currently have a 10 gallon. Should I start using the new filter in my 10 galling along with the existing filter to build up bacteria before setting up my new tank? Or would that be too much for the 10 gallon tank?

You can take some new filter media (that fits into the fits the filter for the new tank) and stuff it in with your existing filter. This will grow some bacteria on it that will help boost your cycle in the new tank.

Thanks so much for your advice! I'm new to the aquarium world, but really enjoy it and so do my daughters! So any help will be greatly appreciated so we have healthy and happy fish

Thanks so much for your advice! I'm new to the aquarium world, but really enjoy it and so do my daughters! So any help will be greatly appreciated so we have healthy and happy fish

Sounds fun! What do you have in the 10 gallon?

When you do get the new tank in, you still will have to cycle it, but good for you on thinking ahead ;)

Do you have a test kit so you can test your water levels?

My ten gallon is definitely overstocked so don't judge :) that is why we are getting a bigger tank. Right now we have

2 platys
2 glo fish ( I think that is what they are my daughter picked them out because one is pink and the other is green!)
1 fancy male guppy
2 baby male guppies
1 male beta
1 Pleco ( he is very small)
2 algae eaters ( one looks like a tiny catfish and the other is longer and skinny)

We had a ton of guppies and they kept having babies! I finally took all of the females out and back to the pet shop. My daughters just love all of our fish and we all love to watch them!